Who’s your Daddy?

“Daddy”, by Sylvia Plath caught my eye because of who the narrator is referring to by Daddy. When I read the line, “ I was ten when they buried you. At twenty I tried to die And get back, back, back to you” (Plath). I thought that “daddy” was someone close to her a father figure. Then I read, “ If I’ve killed one man, I’ve killed two – The vampire who said he was you” (Plath). Now to me this sounds like she is responsible for the “Daddy’s” death. Then she talks about the Daddy as a Nazi solider or even Hitler himself.

Plath was trying to make a point, she is comparing the daddy to a lot of things, but I feel that she was truly trying to show how people are stereotypical towards Germans. In line 29 she wrote, “ I thought every German was you.” Insight of the events that took places in Germany during World War II. Then she makes references to being stuck in barbwire, the Jews, and the Gypsy’s. Finally in the last stanza, “ There’s a stake in your fat black heart…Daddy, daddy, you bastard, I’m through” (Plath). He message is pretty clear.

I took me a few reads to understand but, I think know what she was trying to get at. Not all Germans liked Hitler. Most people were very afraid of him, comparing him to a vampire, which sucked their blood. He was killing citizens for no reason at all. The people of Germany were happy when he was finally dead. However, notice that the title of the poem is Daddy. It is not something dark, cold, or evil sounding. I believe that is because Plath wanted to show people that just because you are living in the same house or country doesn’t mean you are the same. She was trying to show others that Germans are good people; they are NOT all Jews killing heartless Nazi’s.

Plath, Sylvia. Daddy. 1965. Print.

One thought on “Who’s your Daddy?

  1. I found your take on this quite interesting. To look at Germany as a whole was not the way I looked at it. Instead I agreed more on what we talked about in glass about how she blamed her father for abandoning her. The way that she then went on to be able to compare her husband to her father was also intriguing. The way that she used the comparisons to the Nazi’s was such a hyperbole though that would have very much grabbed the audience

    Like

Leave a Reply

